2017 Elementary and Middle School

Kiwanis Hope of America Awards

During June and July, the Kiwanis Club and Foundation of Tierrasanta presented Hope of America Awards to Elementary and Middle School students in Tierrasanta, Murphy Canyon and surrounding areas selected by school faculty members and administrators.  The award honors and encourages students who have demonstrated academic accomplishments, leadership and good ethical and moral character- all traits of individuals and leaders who have sustained our democratic way of life and helped guarantee the future of the United States of America. Kiwanis members present the awards at school assemblies.  The award includes an award letter, plaque and certificate featuring the American’s Creed.  The following are award recipients for 2017:

Doris Miller Elementary School

Gerrel Dela Cruz

Lynette Demumbra

        Gaspar De Portola Middle School

Michelle Jimenez 

Isabella Rodriquez

Euclid Elementary School

Edgar Gonzalez

 Juan Zamora

Jean Farb Middle School

Axel Delgado

Haylee Murphy

Joy Bright Hancock Elementary School

Luke Bowers

Kellan Robinson



Kumeyaay Elementary School 

Gavin Britt

Ava Clovis

  Monroe Clark Middle School

Jason Ly

  Nadia Ivone Sanchez

 William Howard Taft Middle School

Kenneth Nguyen

Cameron Smith

Tierrasanta Elementary School

Olivia Mounier

Hazem Said

Vista Grande Elementary School

Chloe Wedge

Stella Wright










Kiwanis Lt. Governor Lonnie Folsom presents Hope of America Awards to Vista Grande students Chloe Wedge and Stella Wright


Miller Elementary School HOA: Lynette Demumbra, Rich Orr and Gerrel Dela Cruz






Taft Middle School HOA: Cameron Smith, Kenneth Nguyen and Club President Mike George




DePortola Middle School Principal Ryan Brock, Michelle Jimenez, Isabella Rodriquez and Lt Governor Lonnie Folsom






Farb Middle School HOA: Lt Governor Lonnie Folsom, Axel Delgado and Haylee Murphy


Clark Middle School HOA: Jason Ly, Nadia   Ivone Sanchez and Kiwanis President Mike George







Tierrasanta Elementary HOA: Olivia Mounier, Hazem Said and Cathy Chesire




Jessie Wallace presents Hope of America Awards to Kumeyaay Elementary Students Gavin Britt and Avis Clovis Accompanied by their Parents

[Kumeyaay photos by Colors of Life Productions]

Jesse Wallace (far right) presents Euclid Elementary School HOA Awards to Edgar Gonzalez (left) and Juan Zamora joined by Principal Jose Valdez on the far left and their teachers behind them


Past Hope of America Awards

2017 Hope of America Awards Elementary & Middle Schools.pdf

2016-Hope of America Awards Elementary & Middle Schools.pdf

2015-Hope of America Awards Elementary & Middle Schools.pdf

2015-Kumeyaay Elementary Hope of America Awards.pdf