2017 Kiwanis Scholarhips and Hope of America Awards
Serra HS, Hoover HS and Charter School Graduating Seniors

Serra HS Scholarship Awards L to R: April Oertle, Alexander Weishan and Emily Mosler

The Kiwanis Club and Foundation of Tierrasanta awarded scholarships and Hope of America Awards to graduating seniors at Serra High School, Hoover High School and the Tierrasanta campus of the Charter School of San Diego.  The club established a scholarship program in 1982 and annually awards three scholarships through the club foundation to graduating Serra High School students bound for college who best exemplify the high ideals of Kiwanis service including character, leadership, academic and athletic achievement and service to school and community.  The foundation selects the recipients based on a review of applications submitted for the awards, including an essay, school transcripts and documentation of school and community activities, service and leadership. The awards are to be used to defray the costs of tuition, fees, books and supplies and room and board at a college or other institution of higher learning.  The awards also honor former outstanding Kiwanis members now deceased.

Alexander Weishan received a Kiwanis scholarship named in honor of Vernon D. Bowman in 1986. Alexander graduated near the top of his class with a 4.45 GPA.  He was an outstanding student all around.  He served on the school yearbook staff,  a member of the Key Club and was an outstanding tennis athlete, serving as captain of the tennis team and named by the San Diego Union Tribune All-Academic Team in 2016 and is a recipient of the Serra High School “Coaches Award” for his tennis participation and leadership.  Alexander will attend college at Notre Dame in the fall.  The Bowman scholarship awards $1000 per year for four years of college, a total of $4,000.

April Oertle received a $1,000 Kiwanis scholarship named in honor of Thomas G. Cherniss in 2000.  April was also near the top of her class with a 4.40 GPA. April founded the Society of Healthcare Providers an organization where all members received CPRI Basic Life Support certification and an introduction to a host of medical procedures.  In 2016, April was awarded the President’s Volunteer Service Award, Thousand Points of Light Organization, from the Scripps Explorers Program and acknowledged by President Obama.  Her ultimate goal is to go to medical school to 'become a trauma surgeon.  She will attend the University of California, Davis in the fall.

Emily Mosler received a $1,000 Kiwanis scholarship named in honor of George V. Paluso in 2006, a member of the club for over 29-years and instrumental in the initiation of the club’s scholarship program.   In addition to the general criteria, the Paluso Scholarship awards participation, leadership and excellence in athletic activities.   Emily achieved a 4.38 GPA.  She was an outstanding field hockey athlete at Serra High School and a dedicated youth leader at Ascension Catholic Parish extending her public service to the broader community and the homeless.  As a senior, Emily was the varsity captain of the field hockey team.  She was awarded the most valuable defensive player, Serra Tournament best defensive player and All-tournament team three years in a row and named to the CIF Field Hockey 1st Team, All League team and the All-Academic team.  Emily will attend St Mary’s College, Moraga, California.

Terence Richardson received the Hope of America award and scholarship at the Charter School.  The Serra High recipients were Jonathan Bryant, Cameron George and Summer Silvestri.  The Hoover High recipients were Shavaye Brown and Bobby Pornh.  Kiwanis initiated the Hope of America Award program for all the public schools in Tierrasanta and Murphy Canyon in 1979, now expanded to include all schools assisted by the club and the Tierrasanta campus of the Charter School of San Diego.  The California-Nevada-Hawaii District of Kiwanis International has presented Hope of America Awards since 1984.

The award recognizes students selected by school faculty members and administrators to honor and encourage students who have demonstrated academic accomplishment, leadership and good ethical and moral character- all traits of leaders who have sustained our democratic way of life.  Such outstanding citizenship traits and consistent devotion to the acquisition of learning skills as exhibited by the award recipients are very important to help guarantee the future of the United States of America.  The awards include a plaque, an award letter, a certificate featuring the American’s Creed and a $250 scholarship.


Charter School Hope of America Award: L to R: Foundation Treasurer Jeff Ott, Club President Mike George, Terence Richardson, Foundation President Mike Pent and Lt Governor Lonnie Folsom

Serra HS Hope of America Awards L to R: Jonathan Bryant, Cameron George and Summer Silvestri

Hoover HS Hope of America Awards L to R: Principal Walter Fairley, Bobby Pornh, Shavaye Brown and Club President Mike George

Past Scholarship Awards

2014-Scholarship & HOA Awards-Serra & Charter HS.pdf

2013-Scholarship & HOA Awards-Serra & Charter HS.pdf

2012-Scholarship & HOA Awards-Serra & Charter HS.pdf

2011-Scholarship & HOA Awards-Serra & Charter HS.PDF

2010 Scholarship & HOA Awards-Serra HS & Charter HS.pdf

Judge William D. Mudd Scholarship- May 2010.pdf

2009 Scholarship & HOA Awards-Serra HS & Charter HS.pdf

2008 Scholarship & HOA Awards-Serra HS.pdf

2007 Scholarship & HOA Awards-Serra HS.pdf

2007 Scholarships & HOA Awards: